Hello Java, welcome back!

Hello Java, welcome back!

Introduction

During my final year of university, I was introduced to Java for the first time. It was ...okay, but I loved C and C++ and later Go. So I passed the Java Object-Oriented programming course and never looked back. After a couple of non-Java projects and meeting friends who praised the Spring Framework as the mighty conqueror, I decided to re-learn Java so I could try it professionally. This is my re-learning journey!

In this series of posts, I'll implement a project-based learning strategy to help me fail quickly and learn fast. Now, let's talk about the project I'll be working on as I learn Java.

The project

The IGCSE Cambridge computer science syllabus (up to 2022) requires students to understand how to design a solution to a scenario-based question given a detailed problem statement and requirements (called tasks). In this series, I’m going to use the Computer Science pre-release material for the November 2022 exam to implement a solution to the given problem in Java.

Disclaimer:

The IGCSE level answer should not be coded in this manner. My solution will be too complex. However, in an industrial setting, it will most probably be too simple.

In this learning series, I am going to:

  • Extract important information from the problem statement

  • Design an object-oriented solution

  • Implement the solution in Java

  • Write unit tests for the solution using Junit (then maybe later on mock using Mockito)

  • Refactor the code

  • Hopefully, upgrade the system so that its implemented using the Spring Framework

The tools I will use are listed below:

  • Git and GitHub for version control

  • Java SE 11

  • Intellij IDEA

  • Junit 5.9.0

  • JDBC 4

  • Apache Maven 3.5.4

Now, let the games begin!

NEXT: Extract important information from a problem statement